RSS

The New “BABY GLOCK” – GLOCK 42

31 Jan

The White haired ShooterTHE WHITE HAIRED SHOOTER

I just purchased the new GLOCK 42, chambered in a .380 round, called the “Baby Glock” by the salesman at Cabelas, and by quite a few others.  I was very fortunate to be at the sales counter when the THREE Glock 42’s were being put out for sale. My husband was with me, and he – who usually has not very many positive things to say about Glocks — being a “1911” man –  was enamored with it!  Go figure! He told me it would be a great gun for me, and because he is a  holster maker, a good one for him, too.

When we got back home he told me he really wanted that little gun. We returned to Kalispell the next day, which is about 90 miles away from our home, in a heavy snowstorm. Would be great to say that was the only reason we made the drive, hubby also had to check in for outpatient surgery.  After he was released from the hospital, he convinced me to buy the Glock, so back to Cabelas we went. Gary had called back the evening before and put one on hold for me!  While I was filling out the computer work, they told me this was the last one “in captivity.”

Amongst many heavy shooters, chatter is that Glock has made an error putting out this compact version in a .380 —  I disagree heartily.  Even if later they reconfigure the compact platform and issue a 9mm as the tactical guys are asking for –  I think there is a definite niche for this Glock!  To have a well made, affordable, durable, easy to use and accurate shooting GLOCK in a round and frame size that works well for a woman, particularly a mature woman, is WONDERFUL! And it is small enough to be reliable backup gun as well!

The Glock 42 fits my hand – and I have very small hands. The .380 round is considered the smallest caliber that is effective for self defense by many, and that works for me! From the reviews and videos I’ve heard the Baby GLOCK has a soft recoil, and that is very attractive to me.  The trigger pull is much nicer than the Ruger LCP – by the time I get the long extended pull on the LCP gun accomplished, I invariably am off target and can’t hit the broadside of a barn. Another .380 in the barn door category for me is the Colt Government .380  While I like my 9mm Sig P938 both for its accuracy and small size, it is pretty “snappy” as they say, and the recoil makes me not want to shoot it very often.

We’re still snowed under with the latest winter storm, and I haven’t gotten to shoot my Baby GLOCK yet, but I am getting used to the way it feels. The slide release is a little difficult to take the gun from the locked back empty position, but I figure I will get that worked out. For now I am content to just drop the mag and then cycle the slide back in place.

I am anxious to get out and shoot it.

Happy and Safe shooting  –  Peggy

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 31, 2014 in Gun Talk

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
