RSS

“Right”-ing the First Chapter

27 Jul

The White haired ShooterTHE WHITE HAIRED SHOOTER

I’ve begun writing in earnest this week. I’m content enough with the general outline, and have melded my blog notes into usable shape.

The title of this post indicates my first and so far biggest hurdle in getting this book off the ground. Finding the words to introduce the reader to what I will be offering them and opening up so they trust and consider me a friend, that’s a huge stumbling block. I know once I get rolling into the next chapter, words will flow. But at this point they sort of “suck.”

I’ve written and rewritten more than a few times. I have been tempted to just bypass Chapter 1 altogether (for the time being) and start in at chapter 2. I’m thinking that is partly COP OUT, and partly WISE.  Cop out because I think this chapter sets the tone for the body of work as a whole. My opinion is the first chapter “makes or breaks” whether the reader wants to read on, or not. Wise because I know I will be rewriting this first chapter many times during edit, and certainly it will have changed. From my experience, the book will take on a life of its own as I go.

My question and shout out for help: Is the First Chapter dilemma I’ve described common among “writers?”  It’s pretty daunting. I’d love to get some help here!

— Peggy

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 27, 2014 in Writing the Book

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to ““Right”-ing the First Chapter

  1. Everyrosehasathorn

    July 28, 2014 at 10:49 pm

    oooh the dreaded blank page! I hate it. Sometimes I will type just randomness for the first few lines just to get started. lol

     
    • whitehairedshooter

      July 29, 2014 at 9:47 am

      Thanks! Appreciate your sharing… Sounds like what I have been doing. I’m going to plunge ahead and revisit those first words later.

       

Leave a Reply

 
