RSS

Reading other debut novels while writing…

16 May

Reading

 

 

I’m at the half way point of the first draft of my book, am at around 46,000 words.

I’ve eased off a bit on the intensive study of fiction writing I was doing, and begun to read other new debut novels. And I’m finding it very helpful.

It’s helped me to identify some issues I’ve had in my own writing.  It’s easier to see how someone else handles characters, narrative descriptions, structure and scenes, than to recognize it in my own work. I’ve enjoyed reading these novels, and when I reach a stretch of text I want to skim through, I stop and study it.

When I start a writing session now, I have gained a little distance. It’s provided a welcome break from over-absorption in developing my own story, and the words flow easier.

And…. not only have I gotten help with my own writing and enjoyed the stories, I am also supporting some new writers while I’m at it!

 

Lesson learned:

#13.  Reading other debut novels while I’m writing my first book is very helpful.

 

To see the lessons I’ve learned while writing my first novel, click here:   Lessons I’m learning while writing…

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 16, 2015 in Writing the Book

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Reading other debut novels while writing…

  1. biographyguy

    May 16, 2015 at 5:20 pm

    I too am in the process of writing my debut novel. Good luck with yours and I hope you get published!

     
    • whitehairedshooter

      May 16, 2015 at 6:14 pm

      Thank you! I’m with you on loving biographies. So glad you stopped by!

       

Leave a Reply

 
